When it comes to drugs in the United States, the DEA recognizes that not all drugs are equal. When caught with one type of drug, it may not be as serious as another. To address this issue, the DEA has schedules for drugs.

If caught with drugs in your possession, it is crucial to understand the different schedules. Once you understand, you may be more aware of the types of penalties that you may face.

What are the categories for?

The DEA classifies the drugs into five different categories. The point of these categories is to distinguish different types of drugs from another. Often, the schedules of drugs will also determine the penalties associated. The criteria involved includes the drug’s accepted use and the potential for abuse or dependency.

What are the schedules?

As explained, there are five different categories that the DEA refers to as schedules. To distinguish them, schedule I drugs have no medical use at all. These drugs are also ones that individuals are likely to abuse. These drugs may include LSD, heroin, marijuana and peyote. Schedule II drugs, on the other hand, still have a high potential for abuse but may have medical use. These drugs include hydrocodone, methamphetamine, oxycodone and fentanyl. For schedule III drugs, these are drugs that have a lower potential for dependence. These may include testosterone, ketamine and anabolic steroids. Schedule IV drugs have a low potential for dependence. These include valium, Ativan, Xanax and Tramadol. Last, schedule V drugs have the lowest potential for abuse. These may be drugs that you use for analgesic and antidiarrheal purposes.